lr-sync-1
When you are working on a shoot where your lighting and camera settings are fixed, there are changes that you would like to quickly pass to the other images in the shoots. Getting this done quickly can be a great time saver in your workflow. Let me speed this up just a little bit further by adding another tool to your arsenal – Auto Sync.

When you make some develop setting changes to your images, you have the option to select the images that are next to the one that you changed.  Pressing the Sync button at the bottom of the basic panel lets you take the settings that you set for the originally selected image and pass them over to the other images in the list.

lr-sync-2

This feature is great in that it lets you take everything from cropping to process version over to each of the images.  The only caveat? If you make more changes to the images, you’re going to need to reselect the images and perform another sync of them.

lr-sync-3

Instead of doing this, I would propose that you click on the off/on button to the left of the Sync button at the bottom of the Basic pane.  The button will change from “Sync” to “Auto Sync”

lr-sync-4

Once that Auto Sync option is checked, any changes that you make to the image that’s selected to the list is automatically passed down to all of the other images in the series.  No more re-syncing! You can now make the changes to the image knowing that all of the settings will be taken care of!

 

Share:

20 comments

  1. julie 25 October, 2017 at 00:04 Reply

    Hi, have synchronised photos to apply changes to all..doing jewellery photos, and now I want to export only one photo but all of them want to go! How do i just export one photo?

  2. REBECCA JOYCE 15 December, 2016 at 15:40 Reply

    Is there a way for auto sync to only record the net change in value, not the absolute value? I.e. if I just want to move the blue/yellow slider over by 200pts, or increase exposure by .10.

  3. AllenE 22 March, 2015 at 07:57 Reply

    Great tip, thanks. My work space with LR5 gives the “previous” button bottom right. Under settings, “Enable Auto Sync” is greyed. How do I enable?

  4. Keith R. Starkey 4 March, 2015 at 15:52 Reply

    For the love of pete, though, be sure to turn the full Auto Sync button off immediately! That’s a nasty “Gotcha!” if you don’t.

  5. ls3 3 March, 2015 at 21:15 Reply

    Scott is right about turning it off! If you forget, you can make sooo many changes you didn’t mean to make! RC — is there any way at all to undo all those changes without stepping back through each one? deleting them from the history panel doesn’t have the same result even if all the same images are selected.

    • lyle 26 February, 2015 at 20:02 Reply

      Yes, they get auto-synced to the others. Try something really obvious like a gradient that under exposes or blurs everything and you’ll see it applied. (hover your mouse over the others and watch the navigator window for a bigger image) If you don’t like it and do CTRL-Z, it will pull them back off as well.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *