FeaturedLightroom CCLightroom Q&A'sNews

What Happens If Cancel Your Lightroom CC Subscription?

I had this question last week at one of my seminars from someone who wanted to make the jump to CC (he was on Lightroom 5), but he was concerned about getting locked out of everything if he didn’t like it and wanted to cancel down the road. So I thought I’d address it here.

Hey, before we get to that, some quick news: I know many of you know French photographer and Lightroom trainer Serge Ramelli — yesterday we released our first full-length Lightroom course with Serge on post processing Cityscapes (it’s mostly Lightroom with a little bit of Photoshop). He is the master of cityscapes, and we’re already getting awesome feedback on his course.

Here’s the link to check it out yourself (and here’s Serge himself in the official trailer below).

Thanks, Serge. Now, onto what happens if you cancel your Lightroom CC subscription. Here’s what happens:

When you take an image to the Develop Module, you get the warning you see above letting you know that the Develop Module is disabled. Here’s what it says:

Develop module is disabled.

Please purchase a membership or license to reactivate the Develop module.

If you have a serial number to enter, please sign out from the Help menu and sign in again, then click License This Software.

Q. So, the Develop Module gets disabled. What else?
A. Just two other things: the Map Module (Adobe has to pay Google a fee for each licensed user, so if you’re not paying Adobe, they won’t want to pay Google for nuthin’. Don’t blame ’em). The other thing is syncing images from Desktop Lightroom to Lightroom Mobile. Outside of that, the rest of Lightroom still works like always.

Q. What about saving files, or printing, or making new collections or slideshows?
A. They all still work. You can Print, you can Export JPEGs, you can organize — just those few things I mentioned earlier are disabled.

Q. Does Quick Develop in the Library Module still work?
A. Oddly, yes. It still works, because it’s in the Library Module.

Q. Wow, that’s really surprising that much still works.
A. I hear that all the time. I think it’s a very fair way for Adobe to handle it, and for some folks, it really took a level of worry away about subscribing to the CC versions in the first place.

Hope you found that helpful.

Also, hope you get a chance to check out Serge’s class this weekend – I think you’ll really get a lot out of it. More to come from Serge at KelbyOne (and of course, he’s teaching in our Lightroom track at Photoshop World 2018 in Orlando).

Have a great weekend everybody and we’ll see you back here on Monday!

-Scott

P.S. If you’re into guitars (and who isn’t, right?), I’m the guest tonight on EVHgearTV (a live show based around Eddie Van Halen’s line of guitars and amps). Best as I can tell, we’ll be talking about guitars and music and more guitars, and Van Halen and guitars, and a little photography talk, then back to guitars and amps and volume and reverb, and distortion and fun! 🙂  Here’s the link to tune in. It’s free! 9:00 PM tonight EDT. It’s gonna rock! 🙂

 

Share:

21 comments

  1. David Zvi 11 March, 2019 at 08:41 Reply

    “Q. Wow, that’s really surprising that much still works.
    A. I hear that all the time. I think it’s a very fair way for Adobe to handle it, and for some folks, it really took a level of worry away about subscribing to the CC versions in the first place.”

    Actually a better way to handle it would be have a minimum subscription period for full development functionality (I can understand the mapping since Adobe needs to continue to pay for that).

    I think Adobe might be surprised at how many more people might subscribe if they did this. I’d be one, instead I’m still on 6.14 and looking for alternatives.

  2. Bianca 27 June, 2018 at 14:44 Reply

    If I dont subscribe to LR after a trial will I lose my (purchased) synced presets on LR mobile & not be able to use them?

  3. mobotak 1 November, 2017 at 03:31 Reply

    I had this question last week at one of my seminars from someone who wanted to make the jump to CC (he was on Lightroom 5), but he was concerned about getting locked out of everything if he didn’t like it and wanted to cancel down the road. So I thought I’d address it here.
    You also forgot to mention the other things that come with a cc account. I’m assuming that online storage is lost and that if you are using a portfolio website then you will also lose that?
    https://mobotak.com/Categorygrid/id/697/%D9%85%D9%88%D8%A8%D8%A7%DB%8C%D9%84

  4. Lester Sussman 26 August, 2017 at 11:46 Reply

    I’m lost! Here’s what I need to do for my work. I may take a picture of a kitchen project that is missing some needed element such as a tile backsplash. Can I add a backsplash in Lightroom or Photoshop? Can I import materials from other programs such as Chief Architect?

  5. Justin Jones 26 August, 2017 at 03:13 Reply

    You also forgot to mention the other things that come with a cc account. I’m assuming that online storage is lost and that if you are using a portfolio website then you will also lose that?

  6. Dt 25 August, 2017 at 21:15 Reply

    So for the really casual user, does that mean we can subscribe for 2 months, take 4 months off, subscribe again whenever it’s needed, and repeat?

    Not on CC but seems like a good loophole.

  7. chris 25 August, 2017 at 20:57 Reply

    Im being somewhat facetious but does that mean a really frugal person could choose to only subscribe for 6 months a year to get processing done?

    • Tod 22 May, 2019 at 13:50 Reply

      Is this information still current? I was on a chat with Adobe and he said that import and export were also disabled.
      From the chat:
      Ashmi Rachel Mohan, 21 May. 2019, 9:04am

      Only the Library function can be used to view the images.

      Ashmi Rachel Mohan, 21 May. 2019, 9:05am

      Import export etc also won’t work.

      • Rob Sylvan 22 May, 2019 at 15:24 Reply

        Hey Tod,

        It looks like you may have gotten incorrect information. According to the FAQ posted here:

        https://helpx.adobe.com/creative-cloud/faq/CCPp.html

        It says, “Lightroom Classic CC: You’ll still have access to all your photos on your local hard drive through Lightroom for the desktop. You can continue to import and organize photos as well as output your edited photos through Export, Publish, Print, Web, or Slideshow. Access to the Develop & Map modules and Lightroom for mobile are not available after your membership ends.”

    • Scott Kelby 25 August, 2017 at 09:30 Reply

      As for Photoshop, you simply can’t use it. The difference in concern being – Photoshop doesn’t manage your image library, and losing Photoshop just means you can’t edit your images — it doesn’t erase work you’ve already done organizing your images and adding keywords and metadata and stuff like that. 🙂

      • Dennis Zito 25 August, 2017 at 11:34 Reply

        Hi Scott,

        Thanks! The reason I asked is I’m President of a camera group in our retirement community, and I’m trying to get some of them to switch over to the Photography Package. Most of them are using Elements. Also, I’ve been lucky enough to get a couple to join Kelbyone!! They love it!

        Thanks again,

        Dennis

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *