FeaturedLightroom ClassicNew Features

My 2nd Favorite New Feature in Lightroom Classic

My first favorite new feature is the ability to reorder panels, but this other feature — my 2nd favorite, is one Adobe snuck into Lightroom Classic in the most recent Lightroom update, and it didn’t get a lot of fanfare, but for many folks, it will save a ton of time and frustration. The feature is — there is now finally a “cancel” button if you quit Lightroom by accident (see above).

The reason people quit Lightroom accidentally so often is this:
if you close Lightroom’s window (like you’d close a window in Photoshop or most any other application, it quits Lightroom altogether, and if you did this by mistake, or by reflex. there’s been no way to undo it or cancel it, it’s quitting and the only option you’re presented with is the option to backup your catalog or not when it quits. Well, at least that was the case until this most recent update.

Now if you close Lightroom’s window or quit Lightroom accidentally, or just change your mind, you get a dialog box (see above) asking if you’re sure you want to quit. Also, hats-off to Adobe for including a “Don’t show again” for those folks who don’t ever accidentally quit. Simple, well-thought-out, and very helpful for those of you (like me) who quit Lightroom accidentally numerous times a week. Well, at least I used to. 🙂

Hope that one helps get your week off to a great start. 🙂

Best,

-Scott

Share:

23 comments

  1. Aaron 11 September, 2019 at 08:45 Reply

    The problem is that this feature only appears when you do NOT have the automated backups running. When you quit Lightroom and receive the box confirming whether or not you want to back up, you still have no choice – there’s still no cancel button there. It’s only if you’re running Lr without the backup feature active that you’ll see this option.

    • Aaron Sivertson 11 September, 2019 at 08:49 Reply

      Wait – I’m wrong. Sorry folks. 🙂 My assistant had hit the ‘don’t show again’ – I just reset the warning dialogues and it’s back. (Feel free to delete my post.)

  2. Joel 11 January, 2019 at 11:15 Reply

    Terrible implementation, in my opinion. I don’t know of anyone who hits command+Q when they don’t mean to quit, but anyone who uses more than a couple of Mac applications may well automatically press command+W without meaning to quit. The dialog should only appear for command+W, otherwise it’s a nuisance, and most users will eventually dismiss it for good.

    Then, only when they’ve got 3 RAWs open from Lightroom in Photoshop, unsaved and unlinked back to LR, and accidentally close Lightroom, they’ll remember why people clamored for this feature in the first place. Sure, they can save TIFFs and import them into the catalog, but they won’t be linked to their parent RAWs. Better would be to reopen the RAWs from Lightroom and drag the layers from the TIFFs into them and save those… and how is this feature saving me time and trouble again?

    • Rob Sylvan 11 January, 2019 at 11:56 Reply

      As an FYI, the only link between the TIF and raw is that they are stacked automatically when sending from Lr to Ps. If your accidental quit scenario unfolded that way all you need to do is select the parent raw and child TIF and stack them.

  3. Martijn 5 January, 2019 at 09:08 Reply

    Such a bullshit feature.

    There’s no danger of disadvantage to closing LR accidentally. Just start it back up and get back to work. You’ll loose 10 seconds tops. Big deal.

    And how do you accidentally close LR in the first place? Alt+F4 is not a key combo to press by accident. And the close button of the window is not quite that easy to reach by mouse.

    I say Adobe did a great thing adding yet another nonsensical bullshit feature, while leaving gaping performance bugs in there.

    • Rob Sylvan 5 January, 2019 at 11:59 Reply

      I’m personally neutral on this feature (I clicked Don’t show again, but I have heard from many who like it), but just as an FYI, you can quit Lightroom by pressing CMD/Ctrl+Q.

  4. Dale 18 December, 2018 at 16:55 Reply

    I have quit LR numerous times by just not paying attention. For all the naysayers, just check the ‘Don’t show agaIn’ and get on with your life!!!!!

  5. Paouvl 18 December, 2018 at 05:13 Reply

    Not to be rude but how do you accidentally close it while using it – other than accidently double tapping when closing a window right over lightroom, and is it necessary when you don’t loose data?
    And also I agree with the one comment about why they didn’t combine it wit the backup message

  6. Rob Lewis 18 December, 2018 at 02:45 Reply

    Sooooo – why didn’t they combine the boxes so that all three options are in the one box. Now every time I close LR I have an extra prompt asking me whether I really want to quit and then I get the option to close. Why not have all these prompts all in the one box?

  7. Esther A 17 December, 2018 at 17:32 Reply

    Thank goodness!! The accidental close caused me no end of frustration! (Although Lightroom always redeems itself by loading ultra fast to exactly where I left off).

  8. LaChat 17 December, 2018 at 16:42 Reply

    I dont understand why this is useful. In 8 years using Lightroom i I’ve never needed it. Lucky there is the option to -don’t show this again.

  9. Matt S 17 December, 2018 at 07:46 Reply

    It is a welcomed feature. I will say though its approaching the solution like a sledge hammer being used to drive a nail. Why not just add a third button (Don’t Quit) to the exiting window asking about backing up before quitting? One window to deal with showing all options instead of two.

    • Linda A 2 January, 2019 at 08:35 Reply

      Not everyone sees the backup window every time they quit Lightroom, though I think that’s the best setting. The default is just to see that backup window once a week, I believe.

      Count me as another one who is glad to see a confirmation box for quitting Lightroom. I do it accidentally occasionally and then have to wait for the catalog to reload.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

[i]
[i]