Here’s a cool little tip if you work with presets a lot and you find out you want to change one of them. Let’s say you start your editing in the Develop module and apply a preset to an image. You like it. Great! But then you realize you wanted to tweak one of the settings and you like the new changes even more. If you decided you actually don’t just want to keep the changes, but also change your preset’s settings all together, you can update your preset by right-clicking on the old preset and choosing Update with Current Settings from the contextual menu. Lightroom will use the current Develop module settings for the updated preset.

Thanks for stopping by everybody. See you next week.

Share:

13 comments

  1. Roland 18 October, 2009 at 22:38 Reply

    Am I the only one (application smarter than operator) but… Why isn’t the tone curve setting (switched on / off) not saved in the Preset when you create a new one?

    I wondered why every time I checked out a newly imported photo the tone curve got applied (yeah, newbie 😉 so finally figured out the switch on / off switches in the right-hand side windows.

    So my initial setting would be to switch everything off except from applying the Camera Calibration; however when i create a new Preset, the Tone Curve remains switched on.

    Running Lightroom 2.5 on an iMac.

    Cheers,

    Roland

  2. Richard Whetton 20 September, 2009 at 21:57 Reply

    Anybody know how to get rid of the old beta profiles in Camera profiles? (not presets – but similar) they are not doing any harm but they do clutter it up a bit now the main stream versions are there,

    Thxs,

    Rich.

  3. Martin Chamberlain 18 September, 2009 at 14:56 Reply

    Daniel – just follow Matt’s instructions. Everytime you right click to update you get the choice of which boxes to tick.

    One minor issue with this (Lightroom developers please note) in the Windows version at least, when you right click the preset it doesn’t light up or get highlighted in any way. So you can’t be 100% sure which preset you are updating with the new settings.

  4. Daniel Austin Hoherd 18 September, 2009 at 13:05 Reply

    This is a great feature that I’ve used many times. Yesterday, however, I found that one of my presets included a change in the “clarity” slider which I had not really intended when I created it. When creating a preset you can select the elements that you want to include, (eg: tone curve, clarity, sharpening, graduated filters) but once that preset is made there’s no way that I know of to go back and uncheck those boxes. Do you know of a way to do this other than applying the preset, clicking the + preset button and making a new preset altogether, then deleting the old and renaming the new?

  5. Ron 18 September, 2009 at 12:42 Reply

    Christian,

    I forgot,

    the catalog in LR is just the data of where each photo is located on your computer, your collections ect.. and has nothing to do with any settings to photos you have made.

    Ron

  6. Ron 18 September, 2009 at 12:36 Reply

    Christian,

    As I know it, if you are converting from raw to DNG the xmp file is baked into the DNG. LR uses the xpm file or baked in data for DNG to load the applied settings. LR is a data base program that allows you to also apply changes to your photos.

    In other words,
    It is a program that manages your photos allowing you to view them in one place even if they are in seperate drives connected to your computer in multiple folders. The changes you make are stored as a xmp side car file or baked into a DNG. When you make changes your just writing instructions on how you want your photo to look. Raw’s are only data and only become a photo when the data is processed into an image based on either the camera instructions (settings in your camera) or modified in a program that can read and write changes to those instructions. LR is just a program that does that, but with powerful modification tools.

    Go to adobe.com and search DNG and you should find more info on why DNG and more info on the file format.

    Ron

  7. Tim A. 18 September, 2009 at 12:18 Reply

    Cool 🙂 Thanks!

    Now…if only we can do something like this for the export presets… At least as far as I know we can’t… And for some presets that I use for exporting to external sites like Zenfolio and Facebook, you can click on it but since it changes the export location it loses focus there so you can’t even “remove” it easily…

    Unless someone knows something I don’t?? Maybe?

    Thanks for all the info!!!

    Tim

  8. Christian 18 September, 2009 at 10:15 Reply

    Hey Matt,
    thanks for all your work, much appreciated.

    I got a workflow question, would be great if you can share your ideas on this.

    I was wondering what the best way is to use Lightroom AND store your photos in a way that you can work with a different application in the future. Future proof so to speak.

    Meaning how can you apply the settings to the DNGs and save those changes to the File itself and not in the LR catalog.

    Many thanks,
    best from Germany

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

[class^="wpforms-"]
[class^="wpforms-"]