Lightroom Videos

Video – Auto Advancing Your Photos

This time around we’re going to look at a small setting that makes a big difference in the Library module. It’s called Auto Advance and it makes sorting through your photos work a little bit more like you’d think it should. In a nutshell, the setting automatically moves you to the next photo in the Library module once you apply some sort of rating or flat to it. It’s easy to turn on and I think once you’ve used it for a while you’ll wonder how you ever did without it. Enjoy!

Click here to download the Video

Share:

24 comments

  1. Jeremy 30 March, 2009 at 10:18 Reply

    Matt,

    Great tip. I am so using this!

    OT Question: when I import photos from my card, can I assign different keywords to different sessions/dates?

  2. Tomas 22 March, 2009 at 18:26 Reply

    I find it easier to use the ctrl+up or down arrow to either pick or reject my photos. The only problem is that this way of doing things isn’t combined with the auto-advance function. I just can’t figure out why?

  3. Andrew Jennings 22 March, 2009 at 13:30 Reply

    Thanks for the tip – this is yet another reason I need to upgrade to v. 2. I’ve been doing a similar tactic as Pierre mentioned above: set the filter to “no color” and then use a red color for photos to delete, or a yellow color for photos to keep, or green for photos that don’t need any further developing. It hides them and automatically advances, so turning off the filter when no photos are left will show the result.

  4. Mike Nelson Pedde 21 March, 2009 at 02:39 Reply

    Matt: In your video you mentioned that this only works in the Library module. I’ve found that I can only turn it on or off from the menu in the Library menu, but if it’s turned on and I’m in the Develop module, rejecting an image automatically moves it to the next image.

    Mike.

  5. Tanya Plonka 19 March, 2009 at 16:43 Reply

    This can save so much time… I also feel stupid for not finding this before! One day (when I have a few hours to spare) I think I need to go through every menu in the program and see what it does 🙂

    Thank you for pointing this out!

  6. Jason Miller 19 March, 2009 at 16:31 Reply

    Yep, just like “H” key, to hide your brushmarks, the CAPS LOCK key is one of those hidden Keyboard shortcuts to turn on Auto Advance, just make sure to turn off CAPS LOCK when you go into Photoshop or your brush cursor will be crosshairs and not the traditional circle

  7. Martin 19 March, 2009 at 16:15 Reply

    This tip also works when you apply star ratings (keys 0-5), or ratings by colour (keys 6-7).

    I personally do an initial image sort with star ratings rather than pick flag. As I go through my images for the first time I give them a X for reject (then subsequently delete) or 1* for keep (image is OK but nothing special) or 2* (hey that’s pretty good). Then I filter to show 2* images only and then either give the real winners a 3* by pressing 3 which auto-advances or by pressing ] to increase the rating without an auto advance.

    Agree that Caps lock is far easier than selecting auto advance.

  8. theo 19 March, 2009 at 15:57 Reply

    @janine: of couse, if want to do nothing with the picture you have to “do this” LR is great, but is not able to read your mind!

    “U” is the key you want!
    of course, it is a keystroke like the arrow-key, but it is near “P”, so very easy!

    XUP is all you need 😉

  9. Alan Duke 19 March, 2009 at 15:02 Reply

    That’s all very nice, except that if you change the flag or rating of any image, you will advance from the currently selected image to the next one. You may unknowingly skip some.

  10. Bruno Monteiro 19 March, 2009 at 14:55 Reply

    I think this tip is nice, but some tips here could be explained more quickly by text rather than video. Or is it just me?
    Text of video, keep the tips coming! Did I mention I love the presets? 🙂

  11. Pierre 19 March, 2009 at 13:16 Reply

    You can combine the auto-advance function with flagged and unflagged photo filtering, that way each time you reject a photo you not only automatically move to the next photo, but the rejected photo is also hidden from the photo strip, leaving only flagged and unflagged images at the end, which in turn makes it easier to run a new selection round.

  12. theo 19 March, 2009 at 11:20 Reply

    yes! caps-lock or just shift-key does the same!
    i alwas use shift, because normaly i hate the caps-lock key and deactivate it 🙂

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

[class^="wpforms-"]
[class^="wpforms-"]